Beginning on October 15, 2013 the Lt. Governor’s Office will follow Hague Convention recommended Apostille and Certification standards in the authentication of international documents.
The changes will not affect the legality of the notary/state official certification, but will comply with Hague Convention laws in order to more accurately reflect the authentication process. Please see the following examples for reference.
Please review the information below to expedite the apostille and authentications process.
Please bring the following to our office:
Please send us the following information:
Payments are payable to the State of Utah; cash, check, Visa or MasterCard accepted
Mail all of the above to:
Utah State Capitol
350 N State Street, Suite 220
PO Box 142325
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
An authentication or legalization, sometimes called an apostille, is needed for documents that you plan to use in a foreign country.
Please follow this link to find documents you are in need of.
For regular processing our office takes up to 3 to 5 business days to complete your request. If you need it done Next day or Same Day, additional fees are added.
Documents will be mailed to you after the designated processing time. Note that documents are not processed on weekends or holidays.
If you want to pick up your documents from our office, please mark appropriate box for notification, and you will receive a call when they are ready for pick up. Note that documents are not processed on weekends or holidays.
We offer same day and next day expedited services for documents that are hand delivered to our office. Same Day documents have a processing time of up to 2 hours. Next day will be ready in 24 hours from drop off time (excluding weekend).
There is an additional fee for expedited documents see processing fees above.
For faster service, please make sure that the document includes:
Original signature(s) (not stamped or photocopied). A complete notary statement, including the state (Utah) and county where the notarization took place and the date of the notarization.
No. Documents must be notarized by a Utah notary public or certified by Vital Records or the county.